History of Gilmanton
Written by: Daniel Lancaster
 Published in 1845 
The annual meeting of the town was held Mar. 11th, (1802). Dudley Leavitt was chosen one of the Selectmen, and at the adjourned meeting, March 18th, he was at his request excused, and Thomas Cogswell, Esq. was chosen in his stead. The collectors appointed for the year, were in the first Collection District, Nathan Morrill, in the second District, Benjamin Page, in the third District, Elisha Sanborn, and in the fourth District, Benjamin Sanborn.