History of Gilmanton
Written by: Daniel Lancaster
 Published in 1845 
The annual meeting was on the 11th of March (1806). Moses Peaslee, Elisha Sanborn, David Bean, Jr., and John Follet were appointed Constables, and John Chase, keeper of the house of correction. On the 26th of August, Dudley Leavitt, the town Clerk, resigned, and Dr. Simon Foster was chosen to the office.